Complete Ranji Trophy Hat-Tricks List

The Ranji Trophy is India’s oldest first-class competition and some of the finest national side players have come through this tournament over the years and decades. And while hundreds of batsmen have scored centuries and double centuries, we want to highlight some of the best bowling performances in this tournament; in particular, we’ll talk about Ranji Trophy hat-tricks here.

While several bowlers have taken 6-fers and even 7-fers in this tournament over time, just an elite few have managed to take hat-tricks in the Ranji Trophy. The first to do so was Baqa Jilani who picked up a hat-trick for Northern India vs Southern Punjab in the inaugural season in 1934/35 and that led to him even making his Team India debut for a single Test match. Keep reading for the full list of Ranji hat-tricks…

Complete Ranji Trophy Hat-Tricks List

Complete Ranji Trophy hat-tricks list

Jilani picked up 5/7 in that game which saw him help bowl out Southern Punjab for as low as 22 runs in their 2nd innings. Post that, many bowlers have created such highlight moments and gone down in the Ranji Trophy history books. Check out our complete list of Ranji Trophy hat-tricks below, last updated on 12th December 2022, from start of the tournament in the 1934/35 season till date:

Sr. Season Bowler Team vs Opponent Victims
1 1934/35 Baqa Jilani Northern India vs Southern Punjab Lall Singh, Joginder Singh, Yuvraj of Patiala
2 1936/37 Mubarak Ali Nawangar vs Western India Akbar Khan, Hari Mali, Shanoor Khan
3 1937/38 Thomas Longfield Bengal vs Bihar Edward Leigh, Subir Chakravorty, J Das Gupta
4 1943/44 Jehangir Khot Bombay vs Baroda Vivek Hazare, Subbanna Nayudu, Mahipatrao Indulkar
5 1947/48 D. Narottam Kathiawar vs Baroda Chandrasen Gaekwad, Vivek Hazare, Ahmed Patel
6 1948/49 Sarobindu Banerjee Bihar vs Delhi Ishwar Dayal, Hargopal Singh, Gian Kapoor
7 1948/49 Chandrasekhar Sarwate Holkar vs Bihar
8 1954/55 Probir Sen Bengal vs Orissa
9 1955/56 Venkatappa Muddiah Services vs Eastern Punjab
10 1956/57 Vasant Ranjane Maharashtra vs Saurashtra
11 1959/60 Nandi Khanna Southern Punjab vs Jammu & Kashmir
12 1961/62 Nyalchand Shah Saurashtra vs Baroda
13 1962/63 Hiralal Gaekwad Madhya Pradesh vs Rajasthan
14 1963/64 Umesh Kulkarni Bombay vs Gujarat
15 1963/64 Subhash Jhanji Uttar Pradesh vs Vidarbha
16 1963/64 Joginder Rao Services vs Jammu & Kashmir
17 1963/64 Joginder Rao (2) Services vs Northern Punjab
18 1963/64 Joginder Rao (3) Services vs Northern Punjab
19 1965/66 Ravinder Pal Delhi vs Southern Punjab
20 1968/69 Bishan Singh Bedi Delhi vs Punjab
21 1969/70 Kailash Gattani Rajasthan vs Uttar Pradesh
22 1971/72 Mehboodullah Khan Uttar Pradesh vs Madhya Pradesh
23 1972/73 BS Kalyanasundaram Tamil Nadu vs Bombay
24 1973/74 Abdul Ismail Bombay vs Saurashtra
25 1981/82 Raghuram Bhat Karnataka vs Bombay
26 1986/87 Bharat Arun Tamil Nadu vs Goa
27 1986/87 Barun Burman Bengal vs Tripua
28 Sourajit Mohapatra Orissa vs Tripura
29 Shankar Saini Delhi vs Himachal Pradesh
30 Salil Ankola Maharashtra vs Gujarat
31 Javagal Srinath Karnataka vs Hyderabad
32 Arun Singla Haryana vs Services
33 Saradindu Mukherjee Bengal vs Hyderabad
34 Vurity Venkatram Bihar vs Tripura
35 1991/92 Rudra Pratap Singh Uttar Pradesh vs Vidarbha
36 1991/92 Anil Kumble Karnataka vs Andhra
37 1992/93 Sunil Subramaniam Tamil Nadu vs Kerala
38 1993/94 Pritam Gandhe Vidarbha vs Rajasthan
39 1993/94 Arshad Ayub Hyderabad vs Kerala
40 1993/94 Sagarmoy Sensharma Bengal vs Delhi
41 1995/96 Mani Suresh Kumar Railways vs Rajasthan
42 1996/97 Murali Kartik Railways vs Vidarbha
43 1997/98 Anil Kumble (2) Karnataka vs Orissa

G. seventh man to achieve the hat-trick on debut | two more in the 2nd innings of his second game

SEE ALSO: List of the top online sports betting websites


Sr. Season Bowler Team vs Opponent Victims
44 Anand Katti Karnataka vs Kerala
45 Damodaran Devanand Tamil Nadu vs Orissa
46 Amit Mishra Haryana vs Himachal Pradesh
47 Ajay Barik Orissa vs Assam
48 Gagandeep Singh Punjab vs Uttar Pradesh
49 Ramakrishnan Ramkumar Tamil Nadu vs Karnataka
50 S Sreesanth Kerala vs Himachal Pradesh
51 Rajesh Pawar Baroda vs Hyderabad
52 Rakesh Patel Baroda vs Tamil Nadu
53 Joginder Sharma Haryana vs Andhra
54 Sony Cheruvathur Kerala vs Gujarat
55 Parvinder Awana Delhi vs Maharashtra
56 VRV Singh Punjab vs Orissa
57 Vinay Kumar Karnataka vs Maharashtra
58 Pritam Gandhe (2) Vidarbha vs Services
59 Salim Veragi Baroda vs Tamil Nadu
60 Abhimanyu Mithun Karnataka vs Uttar Pradesh
61 Samad Fallah Maharashtra vs Baroda
62 Dhruv Singh Haryana vs Uttar Pradesh
63 Pawan Suyal Delhi vs Assam
64 Abu Ahmed Assam vs Goa
65 Siddharth Trivedi Saurashtra vs Punjab
66 Krishnakant Upadhyay Railways vs Punjab
67 Mohammed Shami Bengal vs Madhya Pradesh
68 Rakesh Dhruve Gujarat vs Vidarbha
69 Sreenath Aravind Karnataka vs Tamil Nadu
70 Mohit Sharma Haryana vs Delhi
71 HS Sharath Karnataka vs Haryana
72 Basant Mohanty Orissa vs Delhi
73 Umesh Yadav Vidarbha vs Rajasthan
74 Rana Dutta Tripura vs Himachal Pradesh
75 Vinay Kumar (2) Karnataka vs Mumbai
76 Rajneesh Gurbani Vidarbha vs Delhi
77 Mohammed Mudhasir Jammu & Kashmir vs Rajasthan
78 Shahbaz Ahmed Bengal vs Hyderabad
79 Ravi Yadav Madhya Pradesh vs Uttar Pradesh


. And for more updates on the ongoing Ranji Trophy 2022, and on the overall Ranji Trophy first class competition in India, stay tuned to

Register on My11Circle to get up to 500 FREE to play fantasy cricket

Sign-up to My11Circle to get upto Rs.500 bonus - slim

Read more:

#Complete #Ranji #Trophy #HatTricks #List

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *